“Bears keep me humble. They help me to keep the world in perspective and to understand where I fit on the spectrum of life. We need to preserve the wilderness and its monarchs for ourselves, and for the dreams of children. We should fight for these things as if our life depended upon it, because it does.” – Wayne Lynch (“Bears: Monarchs of the Northern Wilderness”, 1993)

Posted in: grizzly bear, biodiversity

Tags: great bear, grizzly bear, wilderness

Published in: on May 8, 2010 at 2:09 pm  Comments (4)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://howlingforjustice.wordpress.com/2010/05/08/bears-keep-me-humble-they-help-me-to-keep-the-world-in-perspective-and-to-understand-where-i-fit-on-the-spectrum-of-life-we-need-to-preserve-the-wilderness-and-its-monarchs-for-ourselves-and-for/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

4 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I would rather see an animal in the wild for a blink of an eye , then on my wall, or worse yet floor a life time!

    • Well said Marc!

      N.

  2. When I was a young kid,60 or more years ago,I saw a few Wolves just for a instant. We used to fish in Minn. and we would see them and bears.I don’t know why I’m writing this, because I have hunted and fished my whole life,but have only taken game that we could use. I believe we need wolves to control what we have, I have seen river banks,(Deschutes,Poudre,Animas,Dolores,Colorado,)and other rivers in Colorado,Wyoming,and Oregon,that have been destroyed .I’m old enough now I don’t remember all the rivers I fished and walked along their banks that were destroyed by elk and cattle. We need wolves not to control the elk,but to keep them where they belong, the cattle that’s the fish and game department’s problem. I just want my kids and their kids to know that the animals will control their future more than people who need the hunting and fishing fees to support themselves,I guess the whole thing is we can still hunt and fish,but let the predator control the future not us. About a week ago Doris,and I camped near Glass Butte,she has ( Alzheimers )?,but still knew the coyotes and said she remembered when she,her mother,and father hunted on Santiam and heard wolves and said her father said it was good they were there.
    “When The River Ran Wild” is an interesting book.

    Thanks
    Ron & Doris Hargreaves
    hargr@accutek.com

    • Thanks Ron for relating your experiences with wolves. I send my best wishes to Doris.

      I’m still finding it hard to believe how fast things have deteriorated for wolves in the Northern Rockies. The delisting has unleashed a fury on them and the press is feeding it. Wolves contribute so many positives to the ecosystem and as you said elk and cattle have destroyed delicate riparian areas by overgrazing. The Yellowstone elk herd literally ruined those areas in the park until the wolves came home and brought balance.

      Thank you for sharing your appreciation of the these great predators, that are so persecuted.

      For the wolves, For the wild ones,
      Nabeki


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,982 other followers

