Wolves Work Hard For Their Dinner…..

Wolves don’t carry AR-15 assault rifles, drive expensive rigs, ATV’s or snowmobiles. They don’t use traps, snares, bows, poison, bait or wounded animal calls to catch their prey. Wolves are fed by their feet (Russian Proverb). They use their wits, incredible stamina and sense of smell as pack members join together in cooperation to feed their family. They may travel twenty to forty miles to find food, longer if necessary. Even then, their hunting success rate is low, just one in ten wolf hunts results in a meal. Can you imagine how hard life is for them under the best of conditions? Now they face even greater obstacles to stay alive. Hunted and demonized, by an unrelenting campaign to drive them back to extinction in the lower 48.

Howl for them, we are their voice!

===

Posted in: Biodiversity, gray wolf, Wolf Wars

Video: Courtesy YouTube, Wolf Hunting – Attenborough -Life of Mammals – BBC Earth

Tags: gray wolf, wolf pack, howling wolf, David Attenborough, wolf hunt success rate, wolf persecution

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://howlingforjustice.wordpress.com/2014/01/12/wolves-work-hard-for-their-dinner/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

19 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. We need to do all we can do to fight for them and protect
    the remaining wolves.

    • Amen mrmsf!!

      For the wolves, For the wild ones,
      Nabeki

  2. Reblogged this on "OUR WORLD".

  3. A wolf in the wild only lives about 6 years, if it is not slaughtered by humans. They also have to deal with attacks by other predators, a shrinking habitat, a scarcity of food, and diseases.
    That is why it is so wrong to hunt wolves

  4. Reblogged this on Exposing the Big Game.

  5. I am never sure if I should feel pity toward or ashamed of humans who don’t get it, don’t feel it. Are not in absolute awe and amazement of all animals and how they survive. This planet, Terra 3 is truly amazing. And yet, far too many want to destroy her and all creatures; people like us look upon in wonder, appreciation, respect and that love energy (I know all of you following this blog know what I mean). I have heard it said life is school and we are here to learn. Which leads me to ask the Creator forgiveness in my lack of understanding as to why all humans do not feel the way we do.

  6. by contrast, this is a beautifull movie about the ironic survival of wild life, especially wolves, in chernovlill zone. notice how beautifully the russian professor is imitating the wolf howl (from 48.26 minutes and later on):

    • I really love this documentary orna. I watched it last year. But then I found out hunters were actually going into the zone and killing wolves. I was so shocked because I thought isn’t it ironic that the one place on earth wolves were safe was in a radioactive zone but apparently not there either ):

      For the wolves, For the wild ones,
      Nabeki

  7. Reblogged this on Wolf Is My Soul and commented:
    Inspirational and re-blogged.

  8. Congratulations!

    I have nominated your blog for the Blog Of The Year 2013 Award.

    More about this nomination is at

    http://dearkitty1.wordpress.com/2014/01/13/blog-of-the-year-2013-award-thanks-samantha-jill-and-russell/

    • Thanks so much pretrel41, what an honor!! It means a lot to me and the wolves! Howls to you!

      For the wolves, For the wild ones,
      Nabeki

      • Well deserved :) All the best for you, your blog and the wolves!

      • Many howls to you petrel (:

        For the wolves, For the wild ones,
        Nabeki

  9. I was just thinking about this recently as well – wolves don’t always win in a hunt and go through lean times, and now this assault on them. This really cannot keep up, no matter how it is justified, hundreds of wolves killed per year, and over a thousand this year.

    • We can thank Obama and the Dems for this. The last 5 years could have been a time of peace for the wolves, after George Bush but no, we get a President who could care less about wildlife. It’s makes me sick whenever I think of it, what a contrast from Bill Clinton and his Interior Secretary Bruce Babbitt, who’s administration saw the reintroduction of the wolves.

      For the wolves, For the wild ones,
      Nabeki

  10. Wolves work so hard to live and survive. And they do it as pack, as a devoted family. We have so much to learn from their devotion to each other and how they work together to meet life’s challenges. Most humans could never work so hard simply to survive. Instead of demonization and slaughter, wolves deserve admiration, respect and protection from those humans who are clueless and so cruel. I love wolves just as they are.

  11. I agree. And the worst thing is that people DO use AR’s and ATV’s to hunt wolves. It’s just wrong to hunt the ancestors of our closest companions. Fence in your sheep better, farmers, and know there’s other deterrents than someghing equivalent to torture and murder. (Good set of speakers and a howl track, among others.)

  12. I worked with wolves at a sanctuary as a voleenter. The more time I spent there, the longer I would stay. Then I found my self falling deeply in love with the wolves. I gave tours and was able to be a voice for my beloved friends. My tonsils were tickled by more than one wolf tongue!
    I have lots of stories from working with those wolves.
    Now I have heart ache, sadness, hopelessness,anger.I did not know
    I could cry so many tears, as the death toll rises of the wolves I feel a stab in my heart for every wolf murdered and I cry. I fight the feelings of hate for the stupid ignorant murderers killing my friends. I want to put my body between the wolves and the guns killing them.Until then i cry.
    PS, love Italians I wasn’t surprised at their compassion for one wolf.

  13. SAVE THE WOLVES!!!! PLEASE?!?! I LIKE WOLVES!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,316 other followers

