Atka the Arctic Wolf…

Here are a few videos from the Wolf Conservation Center that star Atka, their ambassador Arctic wolf.  He’s the same ambassador wolf that visited Diane’s sixth graders in New York, last December. He’s a real beauty.

I want to promote a positive wolf day every week, so we can focus on the good things. There is so much bad news, it’s bringing us all down.

I urge people, to send me positive educational wolf videos they may find or create themselves. I’m convinced we need to do more to promote wolf education and focus on the positive. It’s just as important as reporting on the daily barrage of bad wolf news we are subjected to.

So enjoy Atka, he’s a quite wonderful wolf ambassador. Thank you to the Wolf Conservation Center for the amazing work they do educating the public and especially young people about the importance of  wolves!!

Enjoy!!

The Wolf Conservation Center


http://nywolf.org/typo3/index.php

===

Photos: Courtesy Wolf Conservation Center

Videos: Courtesy Wolf Conservation Center

Posted in: Wolf Education, gray wolf/canis lupus

Tags: Wolf Conservation Center, Atka the ambassador wolf, positive wolf education, dispelling wolf myths, wolf acceptance

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://howlingforjustice.wordpress.com/2011/01/13/atka-the-arctic-wolf/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

20 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. What a wonderful Treat. The Vides were Great. Atka is so Beautiful. You are right,Education is so important for Understanding, Thank you for Sharing.

    Like

  2. What a great work and Atka is so beautiful Wolf thanks for sharing dear Nabeki congrats to WCC…

    Like

  3. I hope someday to be able to meet this beautiful boy who so embodies the true beauty and spirit of his species. Nabeki, you are so right. We do need to focus on the positive where our wolves are concerned in order to have the strength to battle effectively the negative. I have watched the healing video of Apricot at least once daily. It has helped me to “get back to center” so to speak, and makes me stronger. HOWLS to our wolves for all the good they bring to us!

    Like

  4. Aww, what a beautiful wolf. I’m so glad the lady brought up the story of “Little Red Riding Hood” and told them how false it is. Although I disagree when she stated that there are only two types of wolf, the Grey Wolf and the Red Wolf. What about the Mexican Grey, and the Ethiopian? Arctic Greys are different from North American Greys too.

    You’re right Nabeki, we need to focus on the good points so we don’t get all depressed. I’m glad you posted this.

    Today, I was teaching an adult about the truth about wolves and how important they are to the world. I felt like I have given her some useful information for her to pass on to other people. ^.^

    Like

    • Yes I posted this to remind us what we’re fighting for. What an incredible ambassador Atka is for his species. I love that the Wolf Conservation Center works to dispel myths. I though it was especially funny when she said wolves aren’t wearing your grandma’s nightgown…lol.

      N.

      Like

  5. Nabeki, thank you! He is a beauty! What a lovely guy!

    Like

    • What a beauty he is crystalwolf. I love how he was scent rolling but my fav was Atka tearing up the cushion. My dog has done that a few times…lol.

      N.

      Like

  6. @Zarago Maggie was referring to the fact that there were 2 species of wolf in the U.S. (which is what the accompanying slide says). The Arctic and Mexican gray wolf are both considered subspecies of the gray wolf. Glad you enjoyed the videos!

    Like

    • Thanks for clarifying that Josh, I missed that entirely.

      HOWLS
      Nabeki

      Like

    • Ah, alright, I get that now.

      Like

  7. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by zjas and isabel. isabel said: Atka the Arctic Wolf…: http://t.co/rfx9V3t […]

    Like

  8. Thanks so much for sharing Atka’s adventures with everyone! I’ll share you kind words with Atka. YOur messages will make him feel even giddier than he already is with over 2 feet of snow to frolic in. Keep up the great work!

    Like

    • Thanks so much Maggie. Atka is a treasure and such a wonderful ambassador for his species. What better way to show people the awesomeness of wolves then to introduce them to Atka. Thanks for everything you do!! Say hi to Atka from all the Wolf Warriors!! I hope he has a great time frolicking in the snow..lol.

      For the wolves, For the wild ones,
      Nabeki

      Like

  9. Wow these videos are really good!
    I learnt heaps 🙂
    Thanks Guys.

    Like

    • You’re welcome Michaela,

      N.

      Like

  10. Lovely 🙂 We could benefit from more ambassador wolves in the UK, an education centre in Scotland would be a good investment.

    Like

    • I just love Atka!!

      N.

      Like

  11. I think regular positive posts are a great idea. Thank you for sharing these pictures and videos, they’re really great! They help remind us of the value of what we are fighting for.

    Like

    • Captain S……I have a real nice video I’m posting tomorrow. I think you’ll like it.

      For the wolves, For the wild ones,
      Nabeki

      Like

  12. im thankfull for the greet work every wolves lovers do. there is rely much work to do. many many people all over the world still dont know about wolves lives or how to live side by side whit them. kindly regards ellinor

    Like


Leave a Reply

