ACTION ALERT: Buying Idaho & Montana Wolf Tags Will Not Help Wolves…

ALERT: I want to clear up a rumor that has been circulating.

Buying Idaho and Montana wolf tags is not going to help wolves. Some people are under the impression that they can buy all the wolf tags and keep wolves from being hunted. This is not the case. Idaho and Montana are selling an unlimited number of tags. No matter how many tags a person buys there will be more to purchase. Therefore,  if anyone is under the misguided assumption that all the Idaho and Montana wolf tags can be bought up, thereby saving Idaho and Montana wolves from being hunted, they are sadly misinformed.  Please do not fall for this, it will not help Idaho or Montana wolves. All you would be doing is putting more money into the IDFG and Montana Fish Wildlife & Parks coffers.

I know we are all feeling helpless and want to do whatever we can to help wolves but this will not work.

For the wolves, For the wild ones,

Nabeki

===

Photo:  Courtesy All About Wolves

Posted in: Wolf Wars, Idaho Wolves, Action Alert

Tags: Idaho wolf tags unlimited, filling IDFG coffers, Idaho wolf hunt

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://howlingforjustice.wordpress.com/2011/06/03/action-alert-buying-idaho-wolf-tags-will-not-help-wolves/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

22 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. APENAS HABLO INGLES Y NO ENTIENDO MUY BIEN , A VECES , SUS TEXTOS . TENGO 60 AÑOS Y CUANDO YO ESTUDIABA , EN LOS COLEGIOS , SE IMPARTIA EL FRANCES . POR ESO , ME CUESTA MUCHO ENTENDER LO QUE QUIEREN USTEDES TRANSMITIRME . PERO , SEA LO QUE SEA , SIEMPRE ESTOY A FAVOR DE PROTEGER Y SALVAR A CUALQUIER ANIMAL . TODOS SE MERECEN VIVIR . Y EL SER HUMANO NO TIENE NINGUN DERECHO A QUITARLES LA VIDA .

    DO NOT UNDERSTAND ENGLISH VERY WELL, SOMETIMES, YOUR TEXT. I’m 60 and When I study, in schools, was taught French. SO, I can hardly understand what I you transmit. BUT, whatever, I’m always PROTECT AND SAVE FOR ANY ANIMAL. ALL DESERVE TO LIVE. AND PEOPLE DO NOT HAVE NO RIGHT to take his life.

    Like

  2. Hi Nabeki – excuse your technically challenged friend, yet again! Want to talk with you – working today and until Monday – if you email me at – I will give you the phone number – I don’t know how to access your email? Anyway petition on my wall to go to D.C. with us on 8/12. Apparently Change.0rg may have a way to print it out!! Hand-deliver to whitehouse or Capitol Bldg!!! I see that Toby Bridges had the gaul to comment on Mr. Gibson’s article on Earth Island – incredible – he tried to act like Mr. Wholesome – he is truly the Lex Luther of Wildlife, particularly wolves!!!! ugh…!!!!

    Like

    • Will do Linda….

      N.

      Like

  3. Thanks for setting it straight about the wolf tags.

    Like

    • Lynne, has you gotten confirmation yet if Idaho fish and game is going to allow snaring of wolves and also have no quota on them? Snaring is indiscriminate as you know.

      Like

    • You’re welcome Lynne.

      N.

      Like

  4. To be specific it was “The Wolf Army” on Facebook who suggested this. When I pointed out to them that it wouldn’t work they refused to listen and said that that we just had a difference of opinion. Several other people also made comments to the contrary but their comments were removed, they were blocked, and comments on the post were closed.

    It appears to me that they are only concerned with selling crap, like another organization we all know, and less concerned about wolves.

    Like

    • ITA agree Ken. I have never liked anything about that site, it is totally self-serving. The last thing any true wolf advocate wants to do is line the coffers of IDFG and Montana Fish Wildlife & Parks. If people would spend more time writing to members of Congress and President Obama, letting them know votes are at issue here, IMHO would do more to help wolves than anything.

      Like

    • Ken….thanks for shedding light on this. We DO NOT want people filling the coffers of IDFG and Montana FWP in a misguided attempt to help wolves. As you know in order to buy a wolf tag you have to buy a hunting license too, which means more money for the state game agencies. I could compare this to someone trying to buy up all the lottery tickets to try and win the prize, “ain’t gonna happen”.

      N.

      Like

  5. I have never felt so helpless – there is nothing that can be done or so it seems – and what’s worse is that these Politicians get away with having done something illegal and never done before and it should not be treated like it was a bill that passed – it was a rider and should have been removed before the bill went to vote. Nobody caught it – and I think more people knew about than will admit it – I have lost faith in the Government – and even the Democrats seem to be asleep – or I should say everybody was asleep – ]
    Next time someone does it it will affect people in a bad way – and then maybe they will look at letting Politics and Laws get away with Murder – and that’s what is being done to the Wolves – and we brought them back –
    I was very active in the re-introduction – and now I feel like I have them sacrificed and should have left it alone – of course I was not the final decision maker – but there was so much joy when they were bouncing in the snow to their new Homes. We watched all the Packs – live – die – give birth – and now?

    I guess we have lost the War – won many fights but lost the War – will it change before it’s too late?

    Like

    • Morrigan, the war is far from over as long as there are people committed to the changes that need to take place to protect our nation’s wildlife. Hope is never lost and will continue to motivate people, yet these times are trying and the light at the end of the tunnel is hard to see most of the time. I for one will never give up the fight, although I may get sidetracked a lot, I’m still in for the long haul as I know many others are as well.

      Like

  6. just sickening i cant belive the government would pull such a stunt, first putting these bueatiful misunderstood creatures in harms way, now keeping them from being protected.

    Like

  7. When I think about what is going to happen to the wolves out west & what happens to them in Alaska – I get very, very depressed. I have NO control over the government …. it seems we have NO control over the government. What the people want & what politicians do are 2 entirely different things. I don’t know what has happened to this country ….. oh yes I do ~ it’s run buy a bunch of greedy corporations. They just can’t seem to get enough land & or money. It literally makes me sick to my stomach. I have ideas of how & what to do – but I would never publicize my thoughts. I mean ….. is this what it’s come to??? To protect wolves you have to take matters into your own hands? That shouldn’t be. What & where is our TAX $$$ ~ I get so sick of hearing the bullshit from both sides of the aisle.

    I’m sorry – just venting

    Like

  8. I am so very sorry that this is happening and they do suffer in so many ways – god bless them

    Like

    • It is awful Cindy, we worked so hard to have them relisted only to have those 81 Senators vote to delist wolves in a budget rider and then Obama signed it into law. That’s how we got here. There is a lawsuit moving very swiftly through the courts challenging the delisting rider. I hope Judge Molloy finds the rider unconstitutional!!

      For the wolves, For the wild ones,
      Nabeki

      Like

  9. @ am ramses~ I agree 100%. The wolves in the west and Alaska are in grave danger. I cannot bear to think what their future is… it is very bleak. The politicians listen to the hunters who put their sport of killing elk, deer, moose etc above the lives of these majestic animals that have no recourse for protection. SHAME on man. Our judgement will be coming.

    Like

  10. Is it wrong of me to smile a little bit when I read stories like this? Not that I enjoy the loss of so many animals due to weather, but from the satisfaction of knowing that this rancher can’t claim that wolves are destroying his cattle.

    http://www.ktvq.com/news/recent-storm-brings-more-hardship-to-golden-valley-county-farmer-rancher-loses-half-his-cattle/

    Like

    • Terrence, I’m getting so aggravated with ranchers blaming wolves for teeny tiny livestock losses. In Oregon they may even kill off the Imnaha pack for a few livestock depredations when ranchers lost 51,000 plus cattle to non-predation in Oregon in 2010. I should start posting non-predation cow losses on the blog every week to remind people this is a false emergency!!!!

      For the wolves, For the wild ones,
      Nabeki

      Like

  11. Terrence, I hate to see any creature suffer. But, when a rancher (human) suffer’s that’s different. I don’t know the #’s of their losses but I’m sure that they somehow fudge the #’s so that it looks as if the wolves do a majority of the killing. NOW that would not surprize me. Fuck the ranchers that is all I have to say. Pardon my vulgarity ….. I get so angry. Sorry Nabeki.

    Like

  12. Nabeki, this may be true about the MT and ID hunts but I believe in MN they are selling only a limited number of tags (34-36,000 was the number I heard quoted) and that there was a lottery system in place for this purpose. According to what I read it costs $30 to enter the lottery and the winners will pay an additional $4 for their tag. Of this total I believe 30-32,000 or for MN residents only and the rest are for out of state. So in the case of MN, this strategy might actually save a few wolves.

    Of course it does provide a lot of money for the agency selling the permits so it might still be better to spend the funds suing them….

    Like

  13. The sneaky lying you know whats

    Like

  14. The one good thing I learned at the Carter Niemeyer talk in Yreka a few weeks ago was how well he and people he trains can analyze a potential wolf kill and make a determination as to what really happened. Gone are the days of a rancher hauling a dead animal out to the edge of a field so wolves can eat off the carcass and then claiming it’s a wolf kill.

    Of course hauling a dying animal out their while it’s still standing is another story and one I certainly wouldn’t put past 80% of the people that were in the room that night. The hatred was so intense I could have cut it with a knife. In fact in 30 years of dealing with wolves and wolf issues I don’t think I’ve ever seen it so bad or ugly (and this was all over one wolf that is 400 miles from any others).

    Like


Leave a Reply

