Endangered Wolf Center Has New Pups! They Need Our Help!

Here is amazing video of their newborn Mexican gray wolf pups and the whole family, keeping vigil.  Dad is being particularly attentive. Just wonderful.

Please visit their website and give generously. The Mexican gray wolf is critically endangered. Every one of these wolves and pups are vital to the continued existence of the Mexican gray wolf!

Endangered wolf pups in St. Louis are live-streamed online

Saturday, June 4, 2011 | 4:31 p.m. CDT
BY JIM SALTER/The Associated Press

ST. LOUIS — The Endangered Wolf Center in suburban St. Louis is facing a financial crunch, and officials are hoping a set of newborn pups can help.

Six Mexican gray wolf pups were born May 1. The Mexican gray is an endangered species. The center is broadcasting streaming video of the pups on its website and on its Facebook page.

Ralph Pfremmer, board chairman of the Endangered Wolf Center, said officials hope the pups capture the public’s attention like recent live video of bald eagle chicks and even common dogs. Pfremmer said the center needs significant donations to raise the pups and many other wolves at the center, with the goal of returning the animals to the wild.

Pfremmer said the video will provide a rare glimpse into the lives of wolves — how the pups interact with each other and with their parents.

“This will give everyone an opportunity to see these remarkable keystone predators inside the wolves’ lair,” Pfremmer said.

The pups are the second litter born to parents Perkins and Abby. Their first litter was born in 2010. The new pups consist of five females and one male. Only four litters of Mexican gray wolves have been born in 2011.

The Mexican gray, known as “El Lobo,” is considered critically endangered, with only 50 living outside captivity in New Mexico and Arizona. The Endangered Wolf Center said 170 Mexican grays have been born at the center, and at least one alpha member of each existing wild pack can trace its ancestry directly to the center in west St. Louis County.

The center was founded in 1971 by the well-known zoologist Marlin Perkins, a St. Louis native best-known nationally as host of the TV show “Mutual of Omaha’s Wild Kingdom” that aired in the 1960s and 1970s. Perkins died in 1986.

Click Here To Read More:

=======

Here are links to their website and Facebook page.

The Endangered Wolf Center

Alternative to Extinction

http://www.endangeredwolfcenter.org/

=======

Endangered Wolf Center-Make a Difference (FB Page)

Give generously and help them help endangered wolves!!

https://www.facebook.com/EndangeredWolfCenter?sk=app_2318966938

======

Lives of wolf pups to be streamed online to raise money for Endangered Wolf Center

by JIM SALTER

Associated Press

Posted on June 4, 2011 at 1:21 PM

ST. LOUIS (AP) — The Endangered Wolf Center in suburban St. Louis is facing a financial crunch, and officials are hoping a set of cute newborn pups can help.

Six Mexican gray wolf pups were born May 1. The Mexican gray is an endangered species. The center is broadcasting streaming video of the pups on its website, www.endangeredwolfcenter.org, and on its Facebook page.

Ralph Pfremmer, board chairman of the Endangered Wolf Center, says officials hope the pups capture the public’s attention like recent live video of bald eagle chicks and even common dogs. Pfremmer says the center needs significant donations to raise the pups and many other wolves at the center, with the goal of returning the animals to the wild.

Pfremmer said the video will provide a rare glimpse into the lives of wolves — how the pups interact with each other and with their parents.

http://www.kmov.com/news/local/Lives-of-wolf-pups-to-be-streamed-online-123160778.html

Video: Courtesy Endangered Wolf Center

Posted in: Mexican gray wolf

Tags: Biodiversity, endangered species, Endangered Species Center, Marlin Perkins, Mexican gray wolf puppies

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://howlingforjustice.wordpress.com/2011/06/06/endangered-wolf-center-has-new-pups-they-need-our-help/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

41 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Nabeki, Betty White supports the Endangered Wolf Center and even made a video for them. Linda Camac had mentioned that Betty would be a good candidate to help us in our struggle for the gray wolf….is there a way that EWC could contact her and ask? My mother adores Betty White and says that she has been everywhere throughout the talk show circuit. If it is possible, she certainly could get a word in for the cause.

    Like

    • Since we don’t seem to know the secret handshake to get through to many celebrities, I was hoping maybe this might be our chance to reach her. I will also be posting this article/video for Endangered Wolf Center on my page.

      Like

    • Hi Wolf’s Lament. I wanted to reply to your most recent comment on the “Cry, Wolf” article, and figured I would do it here, where Toby won’t be so likely to gloat about it, heh. I brought the second comment Toby left on New West — the one in which he advocates poaching — to the attention of New West’s staff, suggesting that it violated their terms of service (which prohibit, among other things, inciting illegal activities). I also mentioned Toby’s web site, which he had posted links to in the comments. I got an e-mail reply from New West saying they would “investigate,” but as far as I know, nothing was done. I haven’t reported the comment to anyone else.

      I don’t have a hard copy of Toby’s comments, but they are still there on the web site (I just checked again), and I don’t think he can remove them. If you know of an appropriate authority to take them to, you could print them out.

      Like

      • CaptainSakonna, you are a wise man. Most definitely to be a thorn in his side since he will never be able to respond here. But you can be certain he will copy and paste it somewhere else where he will be in control. That is just the way he works. This is OUR sanctuary, just like the wolves when they have no place to go because the world is not always user friendly. I would really like to speak with you, when chance allows. Please contact me via my gravatar’s generic email. I look forward to connecting.

        Like

    • WL…that’s certainly an idea worth exploring.

      For the wolves, For the wild ones,
      Nabeki

      Like

  2. I was surprised that the “EWC” is in St. Louis. I didn’t expect that ….. but that’s great & kinda close to me (10/12 hours south) of where I live. Would love to go down & visit/volunteer?
    Will donate as much as I can – those pups are adorable. What a godsend.

    Like

    • Yes it’s a wonderful organization, founded by the great Marlin Perkins. So glad to see a litter of healthy babies. Sadly right now there is a fire in the Blue Range Wolf Recovery area that is threatening wild Mexican grays…as if they didn’t have enough problems.

      For the wolves, For the wild ones,
      Nabeki

      Like

  3. i agree, sweet little darlings. i want to donate, and i would voulenteer if i could. im going to be voulenteering at a wolf reserve all summer though, Yay!-Howls

    Like

    • Awesome Waya!!

      For the wolves, For the wild ones,
      Nabeki

      Like

  4. My grandson and I will start helping. The pocket change that I get,I usually let him put it in his piggy bank but I know he would put it towards another piggy bank set up for the this cause.My grandson is a wolf advocate in training.

    Like

    • Too cute Rita…way to go. Now, when they are young and impressionable is the time to teach them what true priorities really mean!

      Blessings to you both.

      Like

    • I’m sure it will be much appreciated Rita!!. So glad you are raising your grandson the right way, teaching him he importance of apex predators! Good job.

      For the wolves, For the wild ones,
      Nabeki

      Like

  5. I love how the incorrigible youngster keeps coming back and trying to look, and Dad keeps ushering him away — so funny.

    Like

    • Dad had things under control but even he had to take a snooze…LOL.

      For the wolves, For the wild ones,
      Nabeki

      Like

  6. God bless the people that are trying to increase the number of endangered Mexican gray wolves !!

    Like

    • So agree Forever Wild. The Mexican grays are so close to extinction, it’s a real comfort to see those sweet new babes.

      For the wolves, For the wild ones,
      Nabeki

      Like

  7. Nabeki, I was just on the phone with Earth Island Journal and completed my order for 10 extra issues, which will be distributed according to optimum accessibility. The wonderful woman I spoke with told me that they will be selling individual copies for $2.50 each. I also included a gift subscription for my local library as a donation. Just wanted to pass along the information.

    HOWLS!!!!

    Like

    • Sorry for another post….Nabeki, if I could bother you once again to check your email. Heart Hugs & Howls!

      Like

    • Good job WL!!

      For the wolves, For the wild ones,
      Nabeki

      Like

      • WL, great job with getting the article in to the local library. Maybe you can tell other people how you went about doing it so they can get it in their local libraries as well. The more information people have the better they will be able to lend their voices to the cause and perhaps one day put an end to this war on wildlife. My hope right now is that we can educate the next generation of wildlife advocates to sustain a future for wolves. I’d really like to see more schools doing what they are supposed to do by getting kids involved with the world around them in an unbiased, educational environment.

        Like

      • Hello Terrence my dearest friend. Nothing extraordinary to accomplish this. Call up the local library, ask if they carry the journal . If they do not, ask for the person in charge of reference. My reference contact gave me his email, and I prepared a special email with a vault of information which also included Nabeki’s site so that he can keep informed on his own. It is amazing how many people still know nothing about a Congressional delisting of the wolf by rider in the federal budget bill. I have friends at a library on Cape Cod and will be doing the same.

        I stand with you towards the common goal of education and empowerment. Children are the hope for the future, and the wolf is an integral part of their natural heritage. Maybe something else to consider, even though the school year is almost over here….giving gift subscriptions of EIJ to schools as well? I will make every effort when local schools begin again in the Fall to connect them to venues of education about the wolf.

        Much love & many blessings…I hope you are feeling better. Heart Hugs & Howls!!!

        Like

      • Speaking of educating young and impressionable minds…can you believe this… targeting “Highlights”…a children’s magazine. Stunningly and embarrassingly shameful.

        http://destroyersofwildlife.blogspot.com/

        Like

      • OMG that is horrific, I could barely look at it.

        For the wolves, For the wild ones,
        Nabeki

        Like

      • Excuse me…but they have no cause to be irritated about anything….they ARE the irritant, acting like spoiled children on a rampage. I want this…and I want that….and I want wolves delisted…and I want wolves gone…and I want to be able to kill anything i want and no one can say otherwise….and if you do, you’ll be sorry. I wanna….I wanna…I wanna. Oh please….get over yourself. Sorry for the rant….but I have had it with this miscreant crowd. The last thing humanity needs is another generation of this mentality.

        A great scene from the original ” The Day The Earth Stood Still”
        Mr. Harley: Your impatience is quite understandable.
        Klaatu: I’m impatient with stupidity. My people have learned to live without it.
        Mr. Harley: I’m afraid my people haven’t. I’m very sorry… I wish it were otherwise.

        And we should be sorry.

        Like

      • I am writing Highlights and thanking them for providing the best scientific facts concerning wolves and wolf reintroduction, and not cowering to the pressures of this lot! I will also include the latest NASS report and the link to EIJ and “Cry Wolf”

        Enough is enough!

        Like

      • Have you noticed the huge discrepancies between the NASS numbers on predation and the USFWS numbers? They are at odds. We have to get to the bottom of this.

        For the wolves, For the wild ones,
        Nabeki

        Like

      • Yes Nabeki, glaring discrepancies. I have heard people say that’s because UFWS have been bought and paid for by hunters. And you and I both realize that which ever numbers reflect the best negative perspective about wolves will win if challenged.. How DO we get to the bottom of it? Just a rhetorical question: what exactly does it mean when the deck always seems to be stacked in the opposition’s favor?

        Have you heard anything from Priscilla and Friends For Animals concerning their intervenor status etc?

        I have a few very interesting phone calls to make today . I’ll let you know how they turn out. Cross your fingers, and keep your eyes on your email.

        Like

  8. Knock, knock…Linda Camac…anyone home? Please contact me ASAP!

    Like

  9. All of a sudden, tonight I remembered this fairy tale that I read when I was a kid, that has wolves in it — well, sort of anyway — in a positive role. I was able to find it on the net, and thought you guys might like to see it. http://www.story-lovers.com/grandmaskneegreedyshepherd.html

    Like

    • Thanks for sharing captainsakonna, a “little” positive tale about wolves is better then “Little Red Riding Hood”.

      For the wolves, For the wild ones,
      Nabeki

      Like

  10. I used to read “Highlights” when I was a kid …..
    I have to go out to Montana for my partners Grandmothers Memorial in August. She lived with us here in Northern IL. for a bit. She did live her whole life in MT. for 92 yrs. She was a remarkable woman. She specified before she died that she would like her ashes to be spread on the homestead where she grew up – in Shelby, MT. If it were not for that I would NOT be going there. I feel bad enough going there …… but I’m going there for Grandma – no other reason. Going out there in August – wish I could round up all of the wolves, bring them back home with me & have them live up in Northern WI. screw MT. Just a pipe dream though.

    Oh by the way … opossums are getting big & bigger everyday. Here is a web-addy that you all can go to to see them in action if you would like.

    Like

    • Cute.Thank you,Ramses,for sharing.

      Like

    • Ramses…..What a nice tribute to your Grandmother although I understand how you feel about Montana. Let’s hold out hope for the lawsuit. It has yet to be decided. It could be good news for wolves.

      Thanks for sharing Ramses…they are adorable.

      For the wolves, For the wild ones,
      Nabeki

      Like

    • Ramses, smiles….we will have to call you Momma Possum…so adorable. Thank you for sharing your little family with us. We had seen telltale signs of something wild in our back yard a few years ago but wasn’t sure exactly what it was…and so we borrowed a humane trap from our vet and set it up that night, the very next day, we found our visitor, it was an opossum. Although he was very still we thought he was dead…but no, the little stinker was actually playing possum! Lol. A wildlife caretaker came and took him to their shelter, and so it was a happy ending for the little guy.

      My deepest sympathies for the loss of your grandmother….may her spirit rest in peace.

      Like

  11. No problem sharing the video – when I posted the address I thought it would post just that …… the address, so when the video came up on the blog I was pleasantly surprised. I’m glad that you both enjoyed it. I enjoy caring for the little critters.

    Like

  12. Today was moving day for the 3 opossums. They are getting bigger every day. I’m sure by next week they will need to be in a bigger home than they are in now. They are also starting to eat more of an array of food, which is fun – because I can make them little meals. Like scrambled eggs & blueberry pancakes. They are going to get so used to eating so good they won’t want to leave. We already know where we will put them when we do release them. I have almost an acre of land (not much) but it comes in handy with stuff like this. Already I’m figuring out where the shelter will be & if it will be adequate enough for them. Or if they will even use it.? Plus I’m already starting to worry about them & I haven’t even let them go free yet.
    Will post a new video soon.

    Like

    • They are so adorable ramses and you are doing a wonderful thing for these little guys. Looking forward to seeing the new video. I think I would feel the same way you do. You want them to wild but you also worry about what will happen to them when you’re not there to protect them. Keep up the great work.

      For the wolves, For the wild ones,
      Nabeki

      Like

  13. http://www.youtube.com/user/945ramses?feature=mhum#p/u/1/XEh6uzDwm-c

    Here is another video of the babies. They r getting BIG. 😉

    Like

    • OMG…too cute ramses! You are doing such a great job. They are beautiful!!

      N.

      Like

  14. Oh, by the way – I was on my home from work last night & what do I run into (not literally of course) a baby raccoon ….stunned & lost. So I jump out of my truck & try & move him/her out of the way of traffic (not a lot @ this hour) + this little one is on the railroad tracks to boot. I finally just pick the little one up by the scruff of the neck all the while he/she is making noise for its mom. I put em into a carrier I have in the back of my truck & go on my home. I tell my partner we have another baby & she just rolls her eyes (in a good way) I put some kitty kibble in there last night & it was still there when I got up this morning. so I proceeded to feed everyone & stuck some canned food in there for the little one – I think it’s probably gone. will post some photos soon. They are adorable when they are small – there’re cute when they are adults to – but the babies are soooo cute.

    Like

    • rameses…..Yes we need pictures, baby racooons are adorable. You have a big heart rescuing little babies in trouble!!

      N.

      Like


Leave a Reply

