Why I’m Vegan

Published in: on July 15, 2014 at 12:06 am  Comments (17)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://howlingforjustice.wordpress.com/2014/07/15/why-im-vegan/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

17 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Plus, I won’t give my money to those who do.

    Like

  2. The killing of wolves by ranchers made me choose to go vegetarian. Now I am vegan because I love all animals. I totally agree with Peter Dinklage. Thanks for this post

    Like

  3. Don’t make the butcher your “hit man.” There is complicity when you buy meat. Paying another to do your dirty work makes you equally guilty as he who kills for you.

    Like

  4. And that’s another reason I like Peter Dinklage.

    Like

  5. This is posted under gray wolf/canis lupus. Uh, I’m no rocket scientist, but…

    Maybe back to protecting wolves and wildlife now… Please.

    Like

    • Hi Ben…Expressing kindness and reasons for giving up meat and animal products is interconnected with the struggle to save wolves and other wildlife. These are statements that need to be made. I’m not a vegan myself but I’m a vegetarian, so it’s important to me and others like me to explain we do it for ethical reasons.

      For the wolves, For the wild ones,
      Nabeki

      Like

      • But they’re not interconnected. I EAT ANIMALS. That doesn’t mean I disregard all of them. My values are that there are animals for eating and there are animals for respecting. I’m not a radical vegan or a careless “meatsack”. There are other people who have the same values as I. What I’m trying to say is, stop trying to wage a war of egos with other people. You’re certainly nicer than other people, and there are people with shorter fuses than me. There is nothing to be gained by it. If someone agrees with your values of wildlife protection, but isn’t vegan, be wise and don’t try to pick a bone with them.

        Like

    • Ben, for you not to see a connection and to be hostile about it is kind of a double whammy. Kindness, compassion and respect towards all non-human animals is ideally part of defending and protecting any animal. Certainly that is how anyone who eats animals should feel towards the animal(s) they are consuming, respectful and compassionate. Is that too much to ask? Each animal on every farm deserves to be treated with kindness and decency and enjoy a good life the short time they have on earth. Personally I do not eat cows or pigs and every time I eat chicken or fish, it makes me think… Not about how better I am than anyone else, but about the chicken or the fish. It simply comes down to living respectfully and thoughtfully, with concern for others, including non-human beings who inhabit the earth. And everything on earth does not exist to be exploited by humans. We are not at all the center of the universe though too many humans behave that way.

      Like

      • I’m not being hostile. I agree with everything you said.

        Like

    • Ben, you wrote “there are animals for eating and animals for respecting.” No, that is an awful statement. Perhaps you are a very young person and do not know better, but it is something vital to learn if you don’t realize it yet. All animals deserve respect… and compassion and mercy, including each animal you eat. Visit a farm that allows visitors and interaction with the animals. Pet them, watch them, quietly and patiently. Do it by yourself. If you do that long enough, you’ll recognize their individuality. They are individual beings, with unique personalities, feelings and emotions of their own. Do you have a dog or cat? My dogs and cats have all shown incredible love and intelligence and humor. All animals are vulnerable to human whims and ignorance, including denial of the worthiness of their lives as individuals and as families with their own kind. Abraham Lincoln said: “I believe in animal rights as well as human rights. That is the way of the whole human being.” It’s best to truly believe that in one’s own heart and mind. I hope you and more and more people will get to that place.

      Like

      • That’s not how I meant it. Sorry, I poorly worded that thought. I mean, you said yourself you don’t eat beef, but you eat chicken and fish, however you still recognise all three as being intelligent living creatures with minds of their own. Same with me, only I eat more kinds of animals than just chicken and fish. I’m not denying anything you said. No one here is denying life from any animal. You’re shadow boxing here. Yes, I did poorly word my statement, but that was not the point. My apologies for causing any distress.

        Like

      • Ben, I think you wrote what you believe and you have lots of company from many many people, young and old. As you can see from all the bad things that are happening to animals around the US and the world, too many people share your disrespect and disregard for all kinds of non-human animals. It is the biggest moral issue facing the world. For most animals humans have created a hell on earth.

        Like

      • It’s almost as if you didn’t read my last response. You’re still firing away with a blindfold, bud. You’re in the wrong. I just agreed with you and you’re still stomping your foot. This is what I meant by “Stop trying to wage a war of egos, there is nothing to be gained by it”.

        Like

      • Ben, you are back to being hostile and you are now a waste of time. Good bye.

        Like

      • Pfft. Now you’re really dancing in front of the lines, singing “Shoot me! Shoot me! I dare ya!” What were you trying to do anyway? “too many people share your disrespect and disregard for all kinds of non-human animals.” Where are you pulling THAT bull? I stated, quite clearly, that what I wrote previously was INCORRECT and I do respect all animals. Some I eat and some I don’t. I spend time to admire the birds, the prairie dogs, and everything else that lives around me. I babysit dogs. So far, none of them disliked me, because I’m kind and gentle. I’m awestruck by wolves (which just last week I was blessed to meet some rescued ones up close) and everything wild and free. But basically you’re calling me a careless selfish human just because I eat meat, when you yourself said you do to?!?!

        Like

  6. I respect this great guy.

    Like

  7. Started the vegetarian thing in February and it has been quite a nice change. I am not so vain as to think that this personal choice will change much it is the thought that I will, at the least, reduce my impact. There are many different flavours to mix and match and when it comes to the budget (depending on what you get and where you source your ingredients) it is much cheaper. If you do want to have some chicken or cow, there are soy or microprotien alternatives. Can barely tell the difference.

    While morality plays a part there are also the numbers involved:
    40% of all the wheat, rice and barley grown by humans is used to feed livestock.
    46% of the carcass of cattle will be discarded as unfit for human consumption and will be sold off cheaply for pet food (or pulped up for hotdogs and fast food restaurant meat)
    Every 1kg of steak will add up to 10 000 kg of cereals and 100,000L water
    Of the meat deemed fit for human consumption, 7% will be thrown away by the markets for being spoiled or damaged during transit.
    There is also the massive annual death toll on predatory animals whom prey on livestock due to the inadequate animal husbandry practices on behalf of the farmer and his/her farmhands.

    Like


Leave a Reply

