Montana FWP Approves Killing 220 Wolves for 2011 Hunt….

Montana has a small wolf population of around 566 animals.  Killing off 220 wolves in the hunt with the added pressure of Wildlife Services slaughtering wolves for agribusiness is going to hit Montana wolves very hard.

Wildlife Services killed 141 wolves last year (MT FWP2010 report) and 145 wolves in 2009,  so I don’t expect them to slow down this year. Add that to the 220 wolf hunt quota for 2o11 and it makes things even harder for wolves.

220 plus 140 equals 360 dead wolves.

What about the new pups of this year? We all know the answer to that.

Just more bad news on top of bad news. It’s never ending. Is this what everyone envisioned for wolves when they were reintroduced in 1995?

FWP approves hunt of 220 wolves

BIG SKY — Montana will allow hunters to take 220 wolves during the fall hunting season, the state’s wildlife commission decided this morning.

 During its meeting at this mountain resort south of Bozeman, the five-member Montana Fish, Wildlife and Parks commission voted unanimously to approve the hunting quota that would reduce Montana’s gray wolf population to at least 425 during what one FWP official called the state’s “first full-fledged wolf hunt.

http://www.bozemandailychronicle.com/news/environment/article_e3caa704-ae42-11e0-b19d-001cc4c002e0.html

Will I lose my parents and my life?

===

Photo: Courtesy JosCos Deviant Art

Posted in: Wolf Wars, Montana wolves

Tags: 220 wolves slated to die, what about the pups, more dead wolves, Montana, FWP

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://howlingforjustice.wordpress.com/2011/07/15/montana-fwp-approves-killing-220-wolves-for-2011-hunt/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

17 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. MONTANA , MONTANA . TU GOBIERNO ES CRUEL E INHUMANO . ESPERO QUE LO TENGAS EN CUENTA CUANDO LLEGUEN LAS ELECCIONES , MONTANA .

    Like

    • I had a Timber Wolf for 14 yrs.. She was the best family pet that I ever had, she came from Colorado as a pup. This cant happen I need to petition this for in the memory of mine. She (Kiowa was her name) I still carry her name tag and rabbie tag on my key chain it has been 11yrs since i had to put her down(from old age) Kiowa would have protected me and my family with her last breathe. So anyway I got word about the killing off of all these wolfs in differentstates i would like to join in in the help to fight this please send me info so i can help. Thank you

      Like

      • Alan please visit Howl Across America. If you click on the discussions tab on the left side of the page it lists all the planned rallies. If you click on notes there are many articles we posted on organizing peaceful rallies. If you need more help let me know. Thank you for sharing your story about your wonderful wolf.!!

        Howl Across America
        http://facebook.com/HowlAcrossAmerica

        For the wolves, For the wild ones,
        Nabeki

        Like

  2. I am in tears, my soul cries out for lives of the young, the old, the pack leaders! DAMN IT! Someone tell me WHAT CAN I DO TO STOP THIS – I’M BEGGING YOU! IS THERE ANYBODY OUT THERE THAT CAN HEAR THE YOWLING OF PAIN AND ANGUISH? PLEASE…

    Like

  3. I wonder if the ‘powers that be’ know about the savage boastings and braggings and sadistic photos of wolf-trophy hunters and what a Pandora’s Box they have opened in the way of unimaginable suffering for wolves, and those of us who love them.
    Does the wildlife services, or the congress or the senators or President Obama have the photos on their desks of wolves set afire while still alive in traps? Wolves ‘wounded on purpose, without an aim to kill” so they will suffer longer? Wolves lured with scent and recorded callings, only to be arrowed to death? Wolves consuming carcasses laced with poisons so they can go off and die excruciating deaths?
    Hard as it is for normal human beings to imagine, there are sadistic, brutal and savage trophy hunters who want to kill wolves in the worst ways possible. They are not happy with just culling for so-called population problems, they even want more than the ‘thrill of the kill’ – they want SUFFERING, terror, and torture for wolves.
    These extreme sociopaths must be exposed and dealt with. The gloves are off, and apparently there is no way to control HOW they will kill the wolves or what the wolves will endure.
    Shame on these evil individuals who make me ashamed to be part of the same species.

    Like

  4. This is a sociopath blood bath. How can a state as beautiful as Montana have such ugly, evil, subhumans in it. I am amazed at the stupidity. You people are in a perfect spot to aid in a huge change in America. Possibly leaders in a new innovative approach to managing wildlife, yet you choose to continue to be a bunch of barbaric……. Reality check for Montana.

    Like

  5. I agree, the US is disgusting in it’s treatment of wolves and other top predators. However they have been particularly revolting in treatment and control (erradication?) of wolves. The problem seems to be there is no way to fight them, Obama is a sad excuse for a president who touted being environmental in his outlook. What is even worse is he is probably better than the alternative. The secretary of the interior has done nothing except promote big business and allowed this slaughter to go on. While a several states have worked with the cattlemen and USFS to find a way to co-exist there is no plan for all states. The wolf has been reintroduced as an endangered species only to be viciously wiped out by ignorance and stupidity. I agree it is embarrasing to be part of the same species.

    Like

  6. When I’m out in Montana – can I bring them all home with me so they can safely live the winter in Northern IL. (I wish I has the means to do just that)
    WTF???
    My god, how can this brutal hunt in these beautiful states go on? I just don’t get it. Nabeki do you have any suggestions for me when I am in MT. Is there anything …………….. ANYTHING I CAN DO????
    Talk about feeling helpless – this is it. Helpless & alone & no light @ the end of the fucking tunnel, I am so angry @ the politicians for this B.S.
    It is ALL about MONEY & POWER.

    😦

    Like

  7. Have they gone crazy? Bloodthirsty feelingless excuses for human beings – I am sick to my stomach from all this – they will kill them all in the end – and here we were – bringing them back to the lower 48 just to sacrifice them again – History repeating itself –
    It is beyond my understanding to want to kill all those Animals – and it brings tears –
    I hope the Gods step in and protect those mystical Animals that are beautiful and have never hurt a Human.

    Like

    • Morrigan now we have Howl Across America. I hope you are considering starting or attending a rally in your home town or travel to one that is not too far away. We have a chance to make a real difference and show the haters how much support there is for wolves in this country. We made special tee shirts and mugs for this event. August is the month to HOWL. We want our voices heard all around this country and the world.

      HOWL ACROSS AMERICA
      https://www.facebook.com/pages/Howl-Across-America/117708221649274

      For the wolves, For the wild ones,
      Nabeki

      Like

  8. WOMITING….JUST WOMITING …. I LOST MY VOICE…I DIDN’T FIND ANY WORDS…

    Like

  9. SORRY…. VOMITING…I DON’T KNOW WHERE I’M…MY HEAD IS TURNING,I’M SICKING….THE WORLD HAS TURNED UPSIDE DOWN… WHO CAN SUPPORT ALL THESE HORRIBLE NEWS? I CAN’T…. SCREAM,CRY…I LOST ALL MY BLOOD FROM MY HEAD…

    Like

    • I hope Howl Across America brings people out of their houses to protest the treatment of wolves in this country. The American people love wolves, we have to show the haters how much support they really have. Agnes not sure what the laws are in France but you could organize a rally there as well. Wolf persecution is global so it would be an even bigger statement if people HOWLED for wolves from all over the world.

      For the wolves, For the wild ones,
      Nabeki

      Like

  10. I took the survey and at the end, you could leave a comment. I said that the killing of wolves was totally unacceptable to me.

    Like

  11. THIS IS HEATBREAKING

    Like

  12. One has to wonder if the wolf “biologists” today in Montana have any moral compass or are they blindly following the orders generated by the politics of Montana. How can they remain quiet knowing decisions on wolf hunts, quotas etc are NOT based on best available science, but instead are based on the desires of special interest groups such as the livestock industry and the hunting organizations who want to maximize ungulate numbers and minimize predators.
    Where are these wolf biologists such as Bradley and Laudon when it comes to standing before the game commission and testifying on behalf of SCIENCE?
    It’s time that these “BIOSTITUTES” stand up for scientific principles and ethics, or have those classes been eliminated at the University of Montana by pressure from special interests??

    Like

  13. Horrible….just makes me cry, you re-introduce and then kill? What kind of slaughter is this? Is this a sick joke? In Oklahoma we are sadley void of most wovles but we do have “deer feeders” in winter for hunting season, dislike! But understand the consept of over-population….not the case with wolves!! Argh!! My heart hurts!!

    Like


Leave a comment